Shine Brightly So Others Might See

I wrote this just after Sandy Hook. I wrote it with tears streaming down my face hoping only to do more good than harm. Then I lost it to an accidental sleight of hand, or mouse as it were, and figured it was the Universe telling me to zip it. Recently, I opened a completely blank and unnamed draft ( I have quite a few and delete them regularly) and I happened to notice a number of saved revisions. Curious, I opened up the newest one, which happened to be this post just as it was right before I prepared to publish it. I’m chosing hope on this one, that I’m supposed to publish it now.

There are no words to aid our understanding in recent events.  People are not acting like people.  People don’t do these things to one another.  This is something else.  Something we don’t understand, so fingers are pointed at something to blame: guns, religion, but none at Self.

We are in the midst of a terrible cultural, moral, and ethical tumult that we created.  We have removed G-d from out daily lives, insisting that Sunday (and some Wednesday nights) be the time to let Him in.  We have allowed ourselves to be confused and lose sight of our beliefs and spirituality in favor of religion.  We took away an ethical base on the rationalization that it could not be applied to everyone against their will, but replaced it with nothing.

We created a spiritual void that we try to fill with things.  To make matters worse, we are told that we have a duty and obligation to buy these things for the common good.  We are spiritual beings trying to feed our spirits with earthly detritus.  No wonder so many of us are dying inside.

Religion exists to bring us together:  A congregation of spiritual beings raising their spirits together and ascending together toward the Source of All.  It doesn’t matter how you pray or what you call your G-d or gods, we all have the same goal:  to feel the Spark, a Divine connection, inside of these Earthly forms and maintain a connection to the Source.

You need reach no further than me or your best friend or your neighbor or that random homeless stranger on the street.  Namaste.  The divine spark in me acknowledges the divine spark within you.  We can heal each other.  Lift each other up.

Believe.  Believe in yourselves and each other.  Within each of us is a Light.  Let it shine.  Fan it with Love.  Share it with the world.  Remember that what matters most cannot be seen.  It can only be felt.

candle_lighting

“If we could change ourselves, the tendencies in the world would also change. As a man changes his own nature, so does the attitude of the world change towards him. … We need not wait to see what others do.”  ~Ghandi

Or, more succinctly, as a meme:

ghandi2

6 comments

  1. Yes, we all need to be the change we wish to see. I believe this with all my heart. You are so right about people trying to fill a void with “earthly detritus” and it is making us die inside. So many unhappy people. So many lonely people. So many empty people. The first step is to not be one of them. The second step is to reach out to others. Glad you found this piece hidden on your computer and posted it!

  2. LOVE it! You said exactly what I think, the only thing I would add is our need for immediate gratification…people don’t want to wait for anything or work for it, they want it NOW! But I do believe this just another symptom of living a life without spirituality.

What do you think?